A Twist of Fortune by Josephine Blake- A Review

Clean / Sweet
Novel

Josephine Blake released her latest installment of her The Hands of Fate series, A Twist of Fortunetoday! I had the honor of reading it prior to its release and my goodness, y’all do not want to miss out on this one. Before I get into the actual review part of this, I would like to highly recommend you read the first book in this series, A Brush with Death before reading this one. You don’t necessarily have to, but it will definitely make the experience even cooler, because you’ll be able to spot characters that you already know from the first book, including the main character (from A Brush with Death) that will tie the series together. But again, you can also read it as a stand alone. 

If it’s one thing that Josephine Blake does well it is that she spins an incredibly intriguing story. I was completely obsessed with the first book in her The Hands of Fate series, A Brush with Death, ​and was so excited when I heard that it would indeed be a series. A Twist of Fortune is just as fabulous as A Brush with Death. Usually sequels aren’t as strong as the first, but this is an exception! Josephine didn’t lose any power or intrigue while writing the second installment. The same enticing energy is present throughout A Twist of Fortune.

The characters are even more interesting and intriguing, and the plot is fresh and unique. The story centers on a group of rag-tag circus performers, who are all incredibly original in their own way. Josephine captures the spirit and comradery of circus life perfectly. They may be closed off and guarded towards outsiders, but they stick together and love their “circus family” fiercely.  It was interesting to see the contrast between the circus performers and Malaina, who is an American girl who came to England on a mission that ends up derailed due to the circus. I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to spoil it for new readers, so suffice it to say, it really is a “twist of fortune”.  

​I love that Death, from A Brush with Death, makes an appearance in this book. This series is so fascinating because it’s linked through the theme of being handed a life changing choice/decision, but it also appears to be linked through the character of Death, albeit loosely. He doesn’t have a strong presence in the second book, but he’s there nonetheless. I think Death is the most fascinating character I’ve ever had the pleasure of “meeting”. 

​I highly recommend A Twist of Fortune. I give it a 10/10. It’s on my list of books you don’t want to miss in 2018. 

Grab A Twist of Fortune here! ​


****** Originally published on The Book Corner blog ***** 

Author

Born and raised in Upstate NY, Liz Austin has been writing for almost a decade now. She got her start writing for country music blogs/websites, and then switched gears and focused on the world of books. She now works as a proof reader/beta reader/editor for several authors, on top of running The Book Corner Blog and writing her first book. You can stay up to date with Liz through her website:http://www.lizaustinera.com/ 
​ You can also find her on Twitter,Instagram, and Facebook.

Published by Samantha Fury

I'm a published Author I'm a stay at home mom of two beautiful mutts I call Jack & Max. I'm a coal miners daughter, who loves the country life. I love writing Romance, and Mystery and I'm currently working on my third novel in the Street Justice Series Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started